

COMMISSIONERS: LILA A. JABER, CHAIRMAN J. TERRY DEASON BRAULIO L. BAEZ MICHAEL A. PALECKI RUDOLPH "RUDY" BRADLEY



TIMOTHY DEVLIN, DIRECTOR DIVISION OF ECONOMIC REGULATION (850) 413-6900

Hublic Service Commission

June 13, 2002

Mr. Gary Winrow Sanibel Bayous Utility Corporation 15560 McGregor Blvd., Suite 8 Fort Myers, FL 33908

Re: Staff Assisted Rate Case for Sanibel Bayous Utility Corporation in Lee County, Docket No. 020439-SU

Dear Mr. Winrow:

We have determined eligibility for staff assistance filed by Sanibel Bayous Utility Corporation. We find that the utility is eligible for the staff assisted rate case filing.

The staff engineer has determined the filing fee in this rate case is \$1,000 for wastewater. The fees are based on the capacity of the utility systems as provided by Section 367.145(2) of the Florida Statutes. The filing fees must be received by <u>July 15, 2002</u> which is the official filing date for this rate case.

Section 367.091(2), Florida Statutes, provides:

Upon filing an application for new rates, the utility shall mail a copy of the application to the chief executive officer of the governing body of each county within the service areas included in the rate request. The governing body may petition the commission for leave to intervene in the rate change proceeding and the commission shall grant intervenor status to any governing body that files a petition.

Please forward a copy of Sanibel Bayous Utility Corporation's application for a SARC t	:0 F
the Chief Executive Officer of Lee County as required by law, and copy the Commission as proc	of 🖺
that an application was forwarded to them.	ت الم
	2.
	7. L.
	CUMF
•	00

06090 JUN 128

CIAII
COM
CTR
ECR
GCL
OPC
MMS
SEC

AUS

Mr. Gary Winrow Page 2 June 13, 2002

Members of Commission staff will contact you to schedule a convenient time for examination of the utility's books and records and physical plant. If you have any questions regarding the rate proceeding, please call Sam Merta at (850) 413-6427.

Sincerely,

Timothy Devlin

Director

TD/sm

cc: Division of Economic Regulation (Willis, Rendell, Merta)

Office of General Counsel (Jaeger)

Division of Commission Clerk and Administrative Services (020439-SU)