COMMISSIONERS: RONALD A. BRISÉ, CHAIRMAN LISA POLAK EDGAR ART GRAHAM EDUARDO E. BALBIS JULIE I. BROWN

## STATE OF FLORIDA



MARSHALL WILLIS, DIRECTOR DIVISION OF ECONOMIC REGULATION (850) 413-6900

## Hublic Service Commission

May 11, 2012

TE MAY II PM 4: 17
COMMISSION

Ms. Lounette Joyner, Owner Joyland Water System 311 Paul Thompson Road Monticello, Florida 32344

Re: Staff-Assisted Rate Case for Joyland Water System in Gadsden County, Docket No. 120082-WU

Dear Ms. Joyner:

We have determined eligibility for staff assistance in the above referenced case filed by Joyland Water System (Joyland or Utility). We find that the Utility is eligible for the staff assisted rate case (SARC) filing.

The staff engineer has determined the filing fee in this rate case is \$200. The fee is based on the capacity of the Utility's systems as provided by Section 367.145(2) of the Florida Statutes. The filing fee must be received by June 8, 2012, which is the official filing date for this rate case.

Section 367.091(2), Florida Statutes, provides:

Upon filing an application for new rates, the utility shall mail a copy of the application to the chief executive officer of the governing body of each county within the service areas included in the rate request. The governing body may petition the commission for leave to intervene in the rate change proceeding and the commission shall grant intervenor status to any governing body that files a petition.

Please forward a copy of Joyland's application for a SARC to the Chief Executive Officer of Gadsden County as required by law, and copy the Commission as proof that an application was forwarded to them.

OPPLACATIVE NUMBER - PATE

03032 MAY 11 º

Ms. Lounette Joyner, Owner Page 2 May 11, 2012

Members of Commission staff will contact you to schedule a convenient time for examination of the Utility's books, records and physical plant. If you have any questions regarding the rate proceeding, please call Avy Smith at (850) 413-6425.

Sincerely,
Moly Willn

Marshall Willis

Director

MW/as

cc: Division of Economic Regulation (Maurey, Daniel, Fletcher, Hudson, Roberts, Rieger) Office of General Counsel (Teitzman, Harris) Division of Commission Clerk (Docket No. 120082-WU)