COMMISSIONERS: ART GRAHAM, CHAIRMAN LISA POLAK EDGAR RONALD A. BRISÉ EDUARDO E, BALBIS JULIE I. BROWN

STATE OF FLORIDA



MARSHALL WILLIS, INTEGETVED-FPSC DIVISION OF ECONOMIC REGULATION 11 SEP 26 AM 10: 55 (850) 413-6900

COMMISSION

Public Service Commission

September 23, 2011

Useppa Island Utility Company, Inc. Attn: Mr. Tim Fitzsimmons P.O. Box 640 Bokeelia, FL 33922-0640

110260-WS

Re: Application for staff-assisted rate case in Lee County by Useppa Island Utility Company, Inc.

Dear Mr. Fitzsimmons:

We have determined eligibility for staff assistance filed by Useppa Island Utility Company, Inc. (Useppa or Utility). We find that the Utility is eligible for a staff assisted rate case filing.

Staff received your filing fee of \$1,000 along with your application. The staff engineer has determined the filing fee you paid in this rate case is appropriate. The fees are based on the capacity of the Utility systems as provided by Section 367.145(2) of the Florida Statutes. The official filing date for this rate case is October 26, 2011.

Section 367.091(2), Florida Statutes, provides:

Upon filing an application for new rates, the utility shall mail a copy of the application to the chief executive officer of the governing body of each county within the service areas included in the rate request. The governing body may petition the commission for leave to intervene in the rate change proceeding and the commission shall grant intervenor status to any governing body that files a petition.

Please forward a copy of Useppa's application for a SARC to the Chief Executive Officer of Lee County as required by law, and copy the Commission as proof that an application was forwarded. to them.

Mr. Fitzsimmons Page 2 September 23, 2011

Members of Commission staff will contact you to schedule a convenient time for examination of the Utility's books and records and physical plant. If you have any questions regarding the rate proceeding, please call Shannon Hudson at (850) 413-7021.

Sincerely,

Marshall Willis

Director

MW/ao

cc: Division of Economic Regulation (Maurey, Fletcher, Hudson, Daniel, Williams, Bruce, Stallcup) Office of General Counsel (Teitzman) Office of Commission Clerk (Docket No. 110260-WS)